Of regrets

Out of the blue, my much reserved and quiet brother texted me and  asked, “Do you have any regrets, Kak Chik?”.

Boy I didn’t see that coming. Asyran and his mind-boggling question sometimes..

It took me a while to answer his text but I finally did. Well, it may be a mistake, a wrong choice or something I should have not done. But you know what, I have learned from what happened. 

I’ve realized a lot of things I would’ve never thought about before. I’ve become a stronger person by being able to let go and make sacrifices and say things that were difficult to say.
My priorities became clearer. I saw who stayed with me and got me all the way here. Even some who I never knew had my back.

I became sure of what’s really important out of all the things I have in life. And especially, I didn’t only learn a lot about the people that surrounded me but also, a whole lot about myself.. So you know what, I won’t ever consider what I did as nothing but a waste. Because for me it was much, much more than that.

I believe in learning from my mistakes because to me mistakes are a great educator when one is honest enough to admit them and willing to learn from them. Well of course I wish I could undo some of the mistakes I did in the past but to spend time trying to change that is like chasing clouds. Therefore, I embraced those mistakes and past and learned from it.

I know the fact that we can’t undo a single thing we have ever done, but we can make decisions today that propel us to the life we want and towards the healing we need.

The sooner I accept and embrace those regrets and past, the faster I get to be able to move forward and start a better life. Alhamdulillah, I am very much happy with where I am now.

Looking back, I can only dream being where I am today but I did. So grateful for the foundation I had from when I was a child that brought me up to this day. And of course, I am most thankful for the gift of loved ones surrounding me and making me happy.

Regrets? No, I don’t think so :)

 

mayaangelou

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

