the man I love.

Disclaimer : Don’t puke. Haha. Wait, no seriously. Don’t. 

***

“I just wish they’d put a new word in the dictionary bigger than love because love just doesn’t describe what I feel.”

Being in love makes you wanna do all the crazy things. You know, things that you never imagined yourself doing. You’ll be like “hell no I’m not gonna do this. No way!” kinda things. 

Being in love with my boyfriend, Nazmi makes me feel on top of the world. I always feel confident, loved, mattered and most importantly, safe. 

He gives me goosebumps every time I listen to his voice. He never fails to make me blushed and smile sheepishly whenever I read his text or his tweets. 

This guy is something. 

Above all, Nazmi drives me forward. He wants me to do not just good, but great or maybe even better. He pushes me above my limits. Perhaps it may sound a bit hard to some people, but for me, that is exactly the kind of guy I need in my life. ONe who constantly push me forward and never settle for the ordinary, because the truth is each and everyone of us has the potential to shine and grow as much as possible. It is embedded within our creation. It is up to us whether or not we want to be normal, moderate, advanced or extraordinary. 

Nazmi is knowledgeable. With him, I feel the need to have Google with me all the time! He asks questions sometimes that is within or above my range of knowledge. Being a natural competitive girl, I can never settle with ” I don’t know..”. Therefore, it is always a never ending search of knowledge with him. We always have discussions on different kinds of topics even during our dates. 

…ah, that’s me,the coffee and the journals that I have to study to keep up with this guy! 

Working with him is another story. He is the prompt, discipline and critical thinker. Keeping up with him is something that I need to improve from time to time. When I was still in the scribbling doodling part of the project, here comes the text from him saying “please kindly check your email.” My heart drops like almost immediately. There goes my life. And there it is in the inbox, the first draft of the proposal. I can dieeeee. 

Yeap, that’s him and the calculation and drawings etc. 

But come to think of it, those are the values that I look for in my team mates/partner etc. Although, both of us can be quite hard-headed and defensive when it comes to discussing our ideas and plans. Well, can’t help but to face it anyways. There’s always gonna be situations like that in the cruel working world anyways. Work is work and love is love. We try to keep both of our personal and work life as far as possible. At the end of the day, he is still the guy that I fell in love with. 

He is ambitious, a planner, and a very objective guy. A project manager myself, I can’t help but to be so smitten and amazed with how he plan his tasks and executes it. I know he have goals in life and knows how to achieve it. 

I love his company. I love having him in my life with the fact that I know that I feel safe and guided. I used to do all things by myself without referring to anyone. Well,  that works for me till now but with Nazmi around, it’s even better because he helps me to do things better. 

We face series of arguments and that has never failed to us realize new things about each other. Our likes and dislikes, things that pissed us off, our privacy time etc. I guess in a relationship, there is no such thing as a bed of roses, and the all happy rainbow and sunshine days. There will be days that you want to scream at him for being so annoying and yet again, you feel so bad for yelling at him that you wanna run back to him and say “I’m sorry. I love you.” . So, welcome all those arguments (ehem, discussion) with open hearts. I know for a fact that I’m much younger than him and there are things that he knows better. Same goes to him, there are some things that I need to tell him so that he can understand me better. 

I believe that honesty, respect, trust and communication are the keys to a successful relationship. Personally, I’m a straight forward kinda girl. If you ask me what I’m thinking I’ll tell you, no sugar coating. Because that’s not what life is all about. It’s about dealing with the pain that comes along. So if you are gong to tell me how you feel, don’t lie. If I ask something, I want to know the truth;not the lie.

As an engineer, Nazmi is a realistic guy. So if he says that it cannot be done, he will lay out all the reasons why and justifies it and wallah, I know for a fact that it can’t be done. Then we’ll figure out alternatives. I on the other hand am a talking machine. So I tend to blabber and oh well, I can’t stop. Thank God I have him to shut me up now or else I’ll end up blabbering till the morning. Pfft. I’m just annoying like that. So if there is one crucial thing he taught me is to get to the point and say it. That’s all. Just THE POINT. So yeah, good thing as a consultant I manage to apply that in all my meetings and discussion. Cuts down a whole lot of time for unnecessary chats. :D

Wait why am I blabbering again? LOL

So yes, the origin of this post is because yours truly is having cramps and it’s raining outside and I’m missing that mad engineer badly.

Throughout this past few weeks, we have been facing all the ups and downs. But I thank God that we are able to talk things through like adults and I can never be more grateful to have him in my life right now. Pretty corny, you may say so but yeah, I’m a hopeless romantic like that. A sucker for all those romantic movies and chick flicks. Sue me! :D

I am alive, I am in love and that is the best that I can do.

Yours truly, 

Lia. 

Leave a Reply

